In 1989, the Foundation initiated an Adopt-A-Scholar program wherein local corporations and individuals assume the financial obligation of a Simon Estes Scholarship(s) at the current award rate. Adopted Scholars are required to maintain regular communication with their sponsors. A diligent effort is made by the Foundation to match a sponsor with a scholar having similar interests and career pursuits. If you would like to adopt a scholar, please Contact Us.

A restricted scholarship is also available for students pursuing degrees in law. Visit the Anna Goodwin Benn Memorial Scholarship.

Participants in this program have included:

  • Hilti, Inc.
  • American State Bank
  • Amoco Corporation
  • Anchor Industries, Inc
  • Anchor Stone Co.
  • Baker Oil Tools
  • Bank of Oklahoma, N.A.
  • Kris Bashford
  • Dr. John Benear
  • Ben-Trei Ltd., Fred Bendana
  • Grace & Franklin Bernsen Foundation
  • J.E. Bertelsmeyer
  • Mr. and Mrs. Roy Bliss
  • Ray and Linda Booker
  • Citgo Petroleum Corp.
  • Class Act Party Rental
  • Conoco Phillips, Inc.
  • Coopers and Lybrand
  • Crow Creek Foundation
  • Cuesta Foundation
  • Ralph and Deb Cunningham
  • Mr. Simon Estes
  • F&M Bank & Trust Company
  • Feldman Franden Woodard & Farris
  • Mr. and Mrs. Philip Scalzo
  • Charles & Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation
  • Senior Star Living
  • Raymond and Nancy Feldman
  • Fintube
  • Mrs. Joan Flint
  • Flint Resources Company
  • Kimberly Fonder
  • Founders and Associates, Inc.
  • Jonathan Gibson
  • Glen Supply Company
  • The Glendorn Foundation
  • The GTAR Foundation
  • Mr. and Mrs. Gerald Gustafson
  • Robert B. Gwyn
  • HM International, Inc.
  • Roger and Donna Hardesty
  • Harper and Associates, Inc.
  • The Helmerich Foundation
  • Hillcrest Healthcare System
  • Richard Hill
  • Hille Foundation
  • Marty and Marcy Howerton
  • International Chemical Co.
  • Brent Johnson
  • Kaiser Francis Oil Co.
  • Saxon Publishers
  • Koch Industries
  • Raymond & Bessie Kravis Family Foundation
  • George Kravis
  • George and Eddy Krumme
  • Lobeck-Taylor Foundation
  • MAPCO, Inc.
  • May’s Drug Stores
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company
  • John and Michele Molenaar
  • Frank W. Murphy Manufacturing
  • Don and Rita Newman
  • Ruth K. Nelson Family Foundation
  • Evelyn Rayzor Nienhuis
  • Oil Dynamics, Inc.
  • Oklahoma Natural Gas Company
  • Oklahoma State University Foundation
  • OXY USA Charitable Foundation
  • Samuel and Eunna Park
  • Charles J. Pero
  • Public Service Company of Oklahoma
  • Alex Reed
  • Jayne L. Reed
  • Rockwell International
  • Julian Rothbaum
  • Jerry Ryan
  • Edgar Sanditen
  • Thomas R. & Stephanie Seymour
  • Sinclair Foundation
  • Southwestern Bell Telephone Company
  • Stairmaster
  • Stifel, Nicolaus & Company, Inc.
  • Ross Swimmer
  • Subway Development
  • Alan and Sharon Sylvester
  • Team One Realtors
  • David E. & Cassie L. Temple Foundation
  • Richard and Patricia Tenney
  • Terra Nitrogen Corporation
  • W.R. and Gretchen Thomas
  • Trudy Sundgren
  • Tulsa Foundation
  • Tulsa Press Club
  • TV Guide/United Video
  • Westview Medical Clinics
  • Michael White
  • Williams Companies Foundation, Inc.
  • Tom and Josie Winter
  • James and Karen Witliff
  • World Publishing Company
  • Zarrow Family Foundation
  • The John Steele Zink Foundation
  • Mr. and Mrs. Richard Groenendyke

Swipe Left / Right


Scholarships Awarded


Contributions Received

Funding: The Foundation began as an all-volunteer organization hiring contract labor only on occasion to assist with special projects. Funds are raised through a series of annual concerts which have featured the talents of such performing greats as Simon Estes, Joy Simpson, Cynthia Clarey, Marietta Simpson, Gordon Hawkins, Daniel Washington, and Angela Brown. Special appearances by notables such as Noble Laureate Archbishop Desmond Tutu has led to national recognition of the Foundation's scholarship efforts. Proceeds from these events, along with donations from individuals, corporations, and Foundation grants are used to support future scholarships, broaden the Foundation's base of support, and ensure financial stability.

Tax Exemption: The Simon Estes Educational Foundation, Inc. is tax-exempt under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. This exemption, granted in May 1984, remains in full force and effect. Contributions to the organization are therefore "tax deductible" to the fullest extent of the law. The Simon Estes Educational Foundation, Inc. is not a private foundation by the definition of section 509(a) of the Internal Revenue Code.


Help Create Brighter Futures

With our Adopt-A-Scholar Program